Guest Teacher Requirements
To serve as a guest teacher, potential applicants must possess one of the following requirements (outlined in red):
A minimum of 30 college credit hours at an institution of higher education (transcript upload required). Must be actual class credit hours from either a Community College or University. Technical or Trade schools are not included.
An honorable military discharge from full-time active duty service in the Air Force, Marines, Army, Navy or Coast Guard. Must have served a minimum of 2 years full-time active duty to utilize this option (DD214 upload required)
Standard Texas teaching certificate (upload of certification or transcript required)
All applicants must also meet these additional requirements:
- Any applicant that does not hold a standard Texas teaching certificate must also to participate in and pass additional online training (May be reimbursable, ask me how).
- Be proficient in reading, writing and speaking the English language
- Be at least 21 years of age to be eligible for middle and/or high school assignments.
- Fingerprinting as required by State of Texas (fingerprint fee may be reimbursable, ask me how)
(Individuals who have already submitted fingerprints for the Texas Education Agency after 2015 will usually not need to complete the process again; however, the district will need subscribe to your fingerprint results with TEA.)
PRIOR TO APPLYING: All NON-Certified (including ACP applicants) applicants must complete a pre-application training requirement:
(fully certified teachers & current Hays CISD student teacher are exempt from the additional training)
Choose one of the courses listed below. You do NOT need to complete both. An application cannot be submitted until this step is complete. The cost of this training may be reimbursed by the district, if all criteria is met.
Choose a course from either company listed below (the name of the company is a link to the site):
The APP-GARDEN option has a cost of $29.00. Choose the "Effective Substitute Training" option and add it to your cart and continue to take the training.
The STEDI option has a cost of $39.95. Choose the “SubSkills Online Training Package” option and add it to your cart and continue to take the training.
IF YOU ARE A VETERAN - I have a code and you can have this training at no cost, email me for details.
If you have any questions about the pre-application course requirement, or how the reimbursement works, please email the Sub Office for additional clarification or information.
Once you have completed either course listed above, you will need to upload your certificate of completion into your application.