Return to Headlines

Hays CISD Board is Among 15 in Texas Nominated for Outstanding School Board of the Year

Nominees are selected by educational regions; Hays CISD wins for Region 13, which includes Central Texas

The Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) announced Thursday that 15 school districts across the state have been selected as regional nominees for the 2021 TASA School Board Awards. Committees of TASA members organized by Texas’ regional education service centers review the nominations and select up to two school boards per region for consideration for the state-level awards – one with fewer than 1,000 students and one with 1,000 or more students. Hays CISD was the only Board selected to advance from Region 13, which includes Travis, Williamson, Hays, and a dozen other central Texas counties.  

View the Hays CISD Nomination Packet Here: School Boards were judged on criteria in ten domains related to: board policy, support for educational performance and improvements, commitment to a code of ethics, good financial stewardship, communication and community involvement, and placing the welfare of children first.

“There is no question among educators that this school year was the most unprecedented ever because of the coronavirus pandemic. Navigating that challenge alone would be enough to merit honors for any school board. And, while it was the most significant potential barrier to success, it was not the only aspect of the year that required extraordinary leadership from the Hays CISD Board of Trustees,” said Hays CISD Superintendent Dr. Eric Wright, who nominated the Hays CISD Board for the school board awards program. “With increased challenges – the pandemic, reconciling the past, the bond, and even a winter storm like no other! – the work of the district continued. The education of students, the safety of families and staff, and the preparations for the future endured. The Board stood steadfast at the helm, offered help and direction, and guided the district through the most unusual year on record. Unprecedented times called for extraordinary leadership, and the Board met the challenge.”

In Early August, TASA’s School Board Awards Committee will meet virtually to select up to five of the nominated boards to be recognized as Honor Boards. Those finalists will be interviewed in the fall and one will be selected as the 2021 Outstanding School Board.

The TASA School Board Awards Program was established in 1971 to recognize the dedication and service of school boards that make a positive impact on the schoolchildren of Texas.


TASA Announced the complete list of regional nominees for 2021 Outstanding School Board of the Year on Thursday:

Region 1 – Mission CISD Board of Trustees, Carol Perez, nominating superintendent
Region 2 – San Diego ISD Board of Trustees, Rodrigo H. Pena, nominating superintendent
Region 4 – Tomball ISD Board of Trustees, Martha Salazar-Zamora, nominating superintendent
Region 5 – Newton ISD Board of Trustees, Michelle Barrow, nominating superintendent
Region 6 – Splendora ISD Board of Trustees, Jeff Burke, nominating superintendent
Region 7 (large district category) – Longview ISD Board of Trustees, James Wilcox, nominating superintendent
Region 7 (small district category) – Fruitvale ISD Board of Trustees, Rebecca Bain, nominating superintendent
Region 10 – Duncanville ISD Board of Trustees, Marc Smith, nominating superintendent
Region 11 – Aledo ISD Board of Trustees, Susan Bohn, nominating superintendent
Region 13 – Hays CISD Board of Trustees, Dr. Eric Wright, nominating superintendent
Region 15 – San Felipe Del Rio CISD Board of Trustees, Carlos H. Rios, nominating superintendent
Region 16 – Gruver ISD Board of Trustees, Wade Calloway, nominating superintendent
Region 18 – Ector County ISD Board of Trustees, Scott Muri, nominating superintendent
Region 19 – Clint ISD Board of Trustees, Juan Martinez, nominating superintendent
Region 20 – Somerset ISD Board of Trustees, Saul Hinojosa, nominating superintendent